COI Partner Highlight: Introducing Keturah Swenson

Wednesday, April 5, 2017 by Julianna Arnett

Keturah Swenson

Keturah (or Ketty) Swenson completed the Didactic Program in Dietetics at San Diego State University, earning a degree in Food Science and Nutrition, and currently works as a Nutritionist for Child Development Associates (CDA). CDA is a sponsor of several federally funded social services including the Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP). Part of her job as the nutritionist is to create trainings and provide nutrition education for approximately 1,250 private in-home child care providers and about 30 preschool center staff who participate in their CACFP program.

Title: Nutritionist

When did you know that you wanted to work in this career field?

I have always enjoyed learning about how the body works. I enjoy science and food, so getting a degree in nutrition made sense for me, but I didn't know that I would be working as a nutrition educator in the early child development field until I was in college. I became aware of food insecurity problems that we have here in San Diego and realized that helping to ensure that all children have access to healthy foods was important to me.

How did you become involved in the COI?

I became involved in the COI when I began working for CDA. CDA has been a long-time supporter of COI as an agency interested in impacting the health and wellness of children, I got lucky as the nutritionist to be our representative.

Why do you stay involved with the COI?

I have seen the impact that the COI has in the early child development community and I am so inspired by all of the incredible work that is accomplished when we work together.

What do you love about your job?

I love so much about my job! I love getting to work with child care providers, visiting child care facilities and seeing the children enjoy healthy foods, but mostly I love knowing that the work I do helps to ensure that nutritious meals are available to children who may not have otherwise had access to those meals.

What are three words that describe you?

Silly, empathetic, determined

What is your favorite place in San Diego?

Home! I'm a total homebody, so most of the time, there is nowhere I'd rather be.

What do you do for fun?

I like to read, hike, camp, paint a bit, spend time with friends, go to the San Diego Zoo, watch movies, and cook.

What is your proudest accomplishment?

Graduating college!

What are your three greatest passions?

Traveling, being of service to friends & family, and always learning new things.

What might someone be surprised to know about you?

I grew up in southern Arizona on a small family farm where we raised goats and chickens, horses, sheep, cats and dogs, and many other animals. I raised pigs for 4-H and showed them in the county fair for years. I love animals and for the last 18+ years that I've lived in San Diego, I have not owned ONE pet!


Leave comment: